Pedestrians are at a huge disadvantage when they are hit by a motor vehicle, with nothing to protect them from serious injuries. When the driver involved in the collision speeds off without regard to the injured pedestrian, the accident can turn even worse because the injured victim may not immediately get the much needed medical help. Often, hit and run accidents are worse than a typical crash because the driver does not seem to show remorse for his actions.
NJ.com reports that a 22-year-old female Montclair University student suffered critical injuries when she was struck by a vehicle around midnight on Oct. 9 in Passaic County. Police said the woman, a Moonachie resident, was walking on Route 46 eastbound in Clifton near Valley Road when she was struck by a Dodge Ram 1500 pickup truck. The driver of the vehicle drove off. The pedestrian was taken to a hospital in Clifton, where she was listed in critical condition and in a coma.
The hit-and-run driver, a 27-year-old North Arlington man, surrendered to authorities several days later. He reportedly left work and stopped at a restaurant’s drive-through along Route 46 in Little Falls before the accident occurred. He was charged with knowingly leaving the scene of an accident resulting in serious bodily injury and endangering an injured victim.
Those who operate a motor vehicle have the responsibility to obey all the local and state rules of the road. If they fail to follow the rules and cause injuries, they may face punishments imposed by the state. One clear rule in New Jersey requires any motorist involved in a traffic accident to remain at the crash scene until cleared by authorities.
In today’s technological world, it’s harder than ever to get away with a crime. There are more resources and tools available now than ever before for authorities to apprehend criminals. Law enforcement can investigate a hit-and-run accident and may find evidence that can lead them to the responsible driver through street cameras, vehicle descriptions, business security surveillance camera, cell phone camera footage, and interview of possible witnesses.
Once apprehended, the hit-and-run driver could face criminal charges. However, criminal courts do not address the suffering and losses of the victim. Hit-and-run victims or their families may consult with a New Jersey personal injury attorney to help them seek compensation for their crash-related losses in a civil court. Have you or a loved one been involved in an automobile accident or collision? Call Grossman Law today at (877) 764-2215 for a free consultation.