A bodily injury can greatly disrupt your life. The cost doesn’t stop at hospital bills and medication expenses – the injured also has to deal with missed work, physical pain, and emotional distress. This is why if your injury was caused by someone else’s actions, the law allows you to claim compensation for your losses.
Unfortunately, many injury claimants end up settling for dismal amounts as they are faced with insurance companies that undermine their claim. When seeking the compensation you need and deserve, it can be crucial to have a reliable attorney on your side.
In New Jersey, you can find your competent personal injury attorney at the Grossman Law Firm. We are a top-rated firm that has won deca-millions for our injured clients in the last 20 years.
Causes of Personal Injuries
Numerous personal injury cases come from car accidents, truck collisions, bicycle crashes, motorcycle accidents, and other traffic crashes. However, various other accident types can result in serious injury, such as:
- Dog bites and pet attacks
- Construction accidents
- Slip-and-fall or “fall down” accidents
- Electrical accidents
- Fires and explosions
- Job-related accidents
- Medical mistakes
New Jersey Personal Injury Statistics and Facts
Hundreds of thousands of auto accidents occur in New Jersey each year.
According to the NJ Department of Transportation, the state had a total of 276,861 crashes in 2019, which went down to 190,783 in 2020. New Jersey counties with the highest number of collisions in 2020 were:
- Essex County – 20,071 crashes
- Bergen County – 19,472 crashes
- Middlesex County – 18,132 crashes.
Motor vehicle crashes cause hundreds of deaths in NJ annually.
Data from New Jersey State Police show that traffic accident fatalities have been on the rise statewide. The number went up from 558 in 2019 to 587 in 2020, then it spiked to 701 deaths in 2021.
New Jersey pedestrian fatalities in 2021 were the highest in 30 years.
Pedestrian deaths, in particular, have reached a record number in NJ. A total of 220 pedestrians were killed in accidents in the state in 2021. This is the highest it has been since 1989, when 217 pedestrians died.
Truck accidents also result in many fatalities.
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) found that New Jersey had 69 fatal crashes involving large trucks in 2019. From these accidents, 78 people died.
Work fatalities have risen in New Jersey.
Besides traffic crashes, job-related accidents also lead to many deaths in NJ. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that in 2020, New Jersey had 82 fatal work injuries. This was 8 more deaths than in 2019. Majority of these were caused by transportation incidents, exposure to harmful substances, and slipping, tripping, or falling incidents.
Personal Injury Compensation You May Be Entitled to in New Jersey
Many injured individuals ask, “How much compensation can I receive for my injuries?” The answer to this varies widely and depends on the unique combination of factors in each case. To name some, we take into account not just your past and present expenses, but also your future outlook – whether you need long-term treatments, require assistive devices, or have a decreased capacity to earn.
In general, you may be compensated for economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages are those that have a quantifiable dollar amount such as
- Hospital bills
- Doctors’ fees
- Surgery costs
- Medication expenses
- Rehabilitation costs
- Lost income.
Non-economic damages are less tangible, but the law allows you to claim monetary compensation for them when appropriate. Examples are:
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life.
Let an attorney help you determine the maximum amount you’re entitled to. Our personal injury lawyers at the Grossman Law Firm leave no stone unturned in examining the extensive impact of your injury.
Important Steps to Take If You Get Injured in New Jersey
These are crucial things to do for your physical health and for your compensation claim:
- Seek medical help. Call 911 and have a medical professional check your injuries. Don’t dismiss bruises or pains that look minor – many of them turn out to be bigger injuries later on.
- Document the scene. While the accident scene is still fresh, take photos and videos of it and of your injuries. Also note down relevant details such as the time and day of the accident and other potential factors.
- Report to the authorities. If your injury was from a motor vehicle crash, NJ law requires you to report it to the police. You must also get a copy of your accident report as it can be evidence in your injury claim. Read our guide here on how to file and obtain a police report in NJ.
- Call a lawyer. Before you speak with any insurance adjuster or representative, it’s essential that you have an attorney protect your rights and guide you on what to do. Don’t make any statements or agree to any offer until you’ve consulted your attorney.
Frequently Asked Questions on New Jersey Personal Injury
Who is going to pay for my medical bills after an automobile accident?
New Jersey is a no-fault state when it comes to auto insurance. This means your own Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance should cover your expenses first, regardless of who was at fault in the car accident.
PIP coverage is mandatory in NJ, so if you have at least the basic or standard insurance policy, you likely have Personal Injury Protection already.
However, there are many cases where injury expenses exceed the victim’s PIP policy limits. PIP in NJ also does not cover non-economic losses such as pain and suffering.
If your losses are substantial, or if you wish to be compensated for your pain and suffering, you can look at other options for compensation. You may use your other applicable insurance policies such as health insurance. You may also consider filing a claim against the at-fault party. Talk to us at the Grossman Law Firm to determine your best options.
What if I was partly at fault for my accident?
Firstly, never admit fault or even apologize for the accident until you’ve spoken with your lawyer. Any admission of fault can damage your personal injury claim.
In terms of vehicle accidents, New Jersey follows the legal principle of “comparative negligence” or “shared fault.” The law looks into the percentage of fault that each party had in the accident. If you were 10 percent at fault in the crash, for example, your compensation could be reduced by 10 percent. Further, if your fault was more than 50 percent, you could lose your right to compensation entirely.
Insurance companies often take advantage of comparative negligence to minimize the amount they have to pay. This is why it’s crucial to consult an attorney before giving statements about your accident.
New Jersey law is much different when it comes to dog bites. NJ has a “strict liability” law, which means a dog owner is liable for their dog’s attack, regardless of whether somebody was negligent in handling the animal.
Do I need to go to trial to get compensated?
It’s common for victims to be reluctant about filing a personal injury lawsuit, because court trials can be lengthy and stressful. However, suing someone for your injury doesn’t always mean you have to go through a trial. A vast majority of personal injury lawsuits are settled before their scheduled trial begins. Some estimates found that 95 to 96 percent of personal injury cases arrive at a settlement without litigation.
Having a competent lawyer can greatly help you get a favorable settlement without going to court.
How long does a personal injury case take?
You may have heard that a personal injury case can last between a few months to two years. The length of each case depends on many factors, primarily how quickly the parties can reach a mutually agreeable settlement.
An insurance company will likely offer you an early settlement, but this is typically a low-ball offer. You’ll want to get your attorney’s help in determining the full amount you’re entitled to, and negotiating for it.
The length of insurance negotiations depend on how complex your accident was, and how well your lawyer can assert the at-fault party’s liability. If the other party finds any reason at all to dispute your claim or deny their responsibility, they’ll likely do so. If you and the other party cannot reach a settlement, the case may proceed to trial, which may last a year or more.
It’s extremely valuable to choose an attorney who is experienced in facing insurance companies and litigating personal injury cases.
How long after an injury can you sue in NJ?
The Statute of Limitations is a law that specifies a ‘deadline’ or time period within which you may sue. For personal injury cases in New Jersey, you generally have two years to file a lawsuit, starting from the date of your accident. If you miss this two-year window, you’ll lose the right to sue for that injury.
Some factors may extend or shorten the statute of limitations. For instance, if you were a minor at the time of the accident, the two-year clock starts running when you turn 18. On the other hand, if you’re suing a government entity, you only have 90 days to file your claim.
Do I need a New Jersey personal injury lawyer?
Having a lawyer is not required to pursue injury compensation, but many claimants quickly find that they need an attorney on their side. An experienced personal injury attorney should:
- Investigate the accident and establish fault
- Determine the full value of your case
- Assertively negotiate with the insurance company for what you are entitled to
- Protect you from costly mistakes when facing the other party
- Effectively advocate for you if your case goes to trial.
At the Grossman Law Firm, we do all these and more. We work with medical experts, rehabilitation specialists, life planners, and economic consultants to maximize our clients’ damages. We are deeply familiar with the inner workings of insurance negotiations and use that knowledge to our clients’ advantage.
Beyond that, we strive to help our clients become as whole as possible after their injury:
- If you can’t come to us, we’ll come to you at your home or the hospital.
- We’ll connect you with our network of doctors, therapists, and specialists for the care you need.
- We can open up pathways for your corrective and long-term care needs, such as reconstructive surgery, plastic surgery, prosthetic limbs, mobility assistance, and more.
- We’ll consistently update you about your case, making sure you get clear answers and explanations.
- You won’t have to pay us any lawyer fees unless and until we win you your compensation.
At the very least, don’t hesitate to get personal injury advice through a consultation with us. We’ll provide your initial consultation for free, so you risk nothing just by reaching out to us at the Grossman Law Firm.
Contact the Grossman Law Firm
The Grossman Law Firm does not charge lawyer fees until we obtain an injury settlement or award for you. We serve Bergen County, Burlington County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Ocean County, Passaic County, Somerset County, Union County, and all of central and northern New Jersey.
Consult with us for free.