If you get injured in a traffic accident and want to sue for damages, a police report (or crash report) will be a crucial component of your case.
A police report is an official statement that includes the facts and circumstances of the traffic accident.
It is used by insurance providers and courts to help determine who is liable for your injuries.
You must procure a copy of the report to verify all of the details of your car accident.
What is a crash report?
New Jersey law requires any car accident which causes more than $500 worth of damage in writing within 10 days, unless police submit a report —
- the cause of the crash,
- the conditions existing at the time,
- which vehicles were involved,
- address, telephone number, and insurance information for the drivers,
- whether either driver was using a cell phone,
- any other traffic violations, like a driver not wearing a seatbelt.
Ideally, a detailed crash report will show your insurance company exactly what happened, and give you proof against the other driver.
New Jersey State Police Accident Reports
The New Jersey State Police who responded after the traffic accident will make a police report which will be posted on the New Jersey State Police website. You can search for the details of the police report car accident on this website and request a copy. The request for your report depends on whether the crash occurred on a toll or non-toll road.
To report a minor accident, you can fill out a Motor Vehicle Accident Report
1) Non-toll road crash report
Your request for police report can be made online, by mail or in person.
- How to obtain police report onlineNon-toll road accident report can be requested online for crashes that occurred on or after January 1, 2013.
- How to request your report by mailFill out the online form, print, and send by mail to:Division of State Police, Criminal Justice Records Bureau
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068Include a $10 fee by business check, certified check, or money order payable to New Jersey State Police. Do not send cash.
- How to request your report in personReports are not available at the New Jersey State Police division headquarters for in-person requests. Instead, try making your request in person at the local investigating station.Certified copies of reports.
Since certified copies are required for legal proceedings, reports obtained online and in person, being uncertified, may not be acceptable for all purposes. A written request for certified copies of police reports is needed.Send the written request by returning the Request to Obtain Copies of State Police Reports to:Division of State Police, Criminal Justice Records Bureau
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton NJ 08628-0068.
2) Toll road crash report
New Jersey Turnpike or Garden State Parkway police reports
You can request your police report online, by email, mail and fax for accidents that occurred on these toll roads.
- How to request your police report online
Go to the Toll Road Crash Report Request website. Select the state (NJ), and choose either NJ Turnpike or Garden State Parkway. Enter the information on the required fields. Online reports cost $5.
- How to request your report by mail
You can also obtain online reports by mail, email or fax through Request for New Jersey Vehicle Crash Report form at buycrash.com.
Atlantic City Expressway police reports
The Atlantic City Police Department handles accidents on the Atlantic City Expressway. Report can be requested online or by mail.
- Requesting your police report online
Go to crashdocs.org to get a copy of your police report online. Reports are $5.
- Requesting your report by mail
Send request to:
Atlantic City Expressway Authority
P.O. Box 389
Hammonton, NJ 08037
Phone 609-965-7200 ext 108
Send money order or certified check payable to South Jersey Transportation Authority.
If you were injured in a New Jersey auto accident, get your case reviewed by the experienced Grossman Law Firm personal injury lawyers.
Call us today to schedule a free and no-obligation consultation at (732) 479-4823.