Eerily timely in the wake of the Utah Mine tragedy, Governor Jon Corzine recently signed a new law increasing fines for violating New Jersey mine safety laws. The old law carried penalties ranging from $25 to $500. Under the new legislation, the first offense will be $2,500, then up to $5,000 for a second offense and up to $10,000 for a third and subsequent offenses. Additionally, there will be a a fine of up to $25,000 for any violation resulting in serious bodily injury. New Jersey has roughly 200 working mines and 400 vacant mines. The new legislation, A-3937/S-2386, was sponsored in the Assembly by Assemblyman Fisher (D-Salem/Cumberland/Gloucester). It was sponsored in the Senate by Senator Sweeney (D-Salem/Cumberland/Gloucester).
Scott D. Grossman is the founder and head attorney of The Grossman Law Firm, LLC. His dedication to his clients is just a part of what enables him to maximize the recoveries he obtains for them. An attorney for the people, he has helped thousands of injury victims fight for their rights over the past decade.