An unsafe lane change is one of the most common traffic violations in New Jersey.
As stated under NJSA 39:4-88:
“… a vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from that lane until the driver has ascertained that the movement can be made with safety.”
The law also requires a driver to travel in the lane nearest the right side of the road, unless they need to pass another vehicle or prepare to make a left turn.
High speed lane change accidents on highways and freeways are dangerous.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that nearly 17,000 deaths a year are caused by a driver’s failure to stay in their own lane.
Who’s Liable in a Lane Change Accident?
A lane change auto accident happens when a vehicle swings out of the lane it was traveling in and moves into another lane, crashing into a vehicle already occupying that lane.
In most cases, the driver who changed lanes is considered liable for the accident. To successfully make a lane change accident claim, your accident attorney needs to prove the other driver made an unsafe lane change.
Common Injuries Caused by Lane Change Accidents
Some of the most common injuries suffered by victims of lane change accidents include:
- Head and brain injuries (usually from concussions or skull fractures)
- Internal injuries
- Bone fractures
- Burn injuries
- Lacerations and bruises
Causes of Lane Change Accidents in New Jersey
Negligent drivers can cause lane change accidents in numerous ways.
Some of the most common causes for these accidents include:
- Talking or texting on a phone while driving
- Driving while intoxicated or drugged
- Drowsy or fatigued driver drifting into other lanes
- Changing lanes in poor visibility
- Failure to signal before changing lanes
- Failure to check both mirrors before changing lanes
- Failure to check blind spots before changing lanes
Penalties for an Unsafe Lane Change in New Jersey
Drivers convicted of unsafe lane change will get two points on their license and are required to pay a fine of $50 to $200.
If the violation is committed while traveling in a construction zone, a safe corridor, or a 65 m.p.h. zone, you’ll pay twice the fine. Though seldom enforced, you can also be imprisoned for up to 15 days and your auto insurance will get jacked up substantially.
Dealing with these types of tickets by yourself is not advised. Without the help of a competent attorney, you are unlikely to receive a fair deal.
Contact a New Jersey Injury Attorney
Grossman Law Firm will represent you in court and secure settlements that cover your medical costs, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages resulting from the accident.
If you’ve recently been injured in a car accident, contact us right away. We can help you understand your legal options.